Department of Town and County Planning

A separate Department of Town Planning in the state came in to existence on 3 1959, with the Government Architect as the Ex-officio Director of Town Planning. The Karnataka Town and Country Planning Act was promulgated in the year 1961. A full fledged Town Planning Department with a full time 'Director' started functioning from the year 1964. The Karnataka Planning Authority Rules were notified in the year 1965.

Presently, the Department of Town and Country Planning is headed by the 'Director' with its Head Quarter in Bangalore. The central office at Bangalore is supported by Two Joint Directors i.e., Joint Director (Head Quarters) and Joint Director (Bangalore Division). The technical and administrative works in respect of districts coming under jurisdiction of Bangalore Division is looked after by Joint Director (Bangalore Division) attached to the central office.


The Karnataka Town and Country Planning Act, 1961 has come into force in the State with effect from 15.01.1965. Karnataka State Town Planning Board was constituted for the entire State under section 4 of the Karnataka Town and Country Planning Act and The Karnataka State Town Planning Board Rules, 1964 was formulated under the provisions of section 74 of the above said Act.

Important purpose :

  1. Advising the State Government regarding planning and development.
  2. Determining principles and policies for achieving balanced development of the State as a whole.
  3. Aiding the State Government in formulation of state level policies relating to planning and development of urban and rural areas.